2016 Women's Major Softball
National Championship
August 4-7, Stratford, CT

    • Welcome
    • Event Schedule
    • Tickets
    • Teams / Rosters
    • Team Pix
    • Pools / Scores
    • Brackets / Scores
    • Linescores
    • WMS Photos
    • Awards

    • Brakettes' site
    • WMS Tourneys

Joan Joyce - Outstanding Pitcher Award
Megan Good - Stratford Brakettes

Allyson Rioux - Defensive Award
Emily McDonough - Dutchess Debs

Micki Stratton - MVP Award
Megan Good - Stratford Brakettes

Pat Dufficy - Home Run Champion
Denise Denis - Stratford Brakettes (1)

(6 others also with 1; in case of tie,
award goes to player of highest finishing team)

Madi Norman - St. Louis Saints (1)
Olivia Reeves, Carly Bilchak - Dutchess Debs (1)
Casey Harding, Madison Murphy - CT Seahawks (1)
Brenna Martini - NYC Havoc (1)

Diane Schumacher - Batting Champion
Val Suto - Stratford Brakettes (.467)

All-Tournament Team

  C   Hannah Cooper, Stratford Brakettes
  C   Ashley Nikolao, St. Louis Saints
1B   Madison Murphy, CT Seahawks
2B   Tatum Buckley, Stratford Brakettes
3B   Brenna Martini, NYC Havoc
SS   Sammy Bunch, St. Louis Saints
OF   Val Suto, Stratford Brakettes
OF   Denise Denis, Stratford Brakettes
OF   Olivia Reeves, Dutchess Debs
UT   Jolie Duffner, St. Louis Saints
UT   Madi Norman, St. Louis Saints
  P   Megan Good, Stratford Brakettes
  P   Sarah Finck, St. Louis Saints
  P   Katie Koshes, CT Seahawks

2016 WMS Tournament Results

1 Stratford Brakettes 4-1
2 St. Louis Saints 3-2
3 Dutchess Debs 3-2
4 CT Seahawks 2-2
5 NYC Havoc 1-2
6 Lyons (PA) Spirit 0-2
7 Team Connecticut 0-2

About the Awards

The individual awards, based on bracket play, presented at the Women's Major Softball National Championship tournament, have been named in honor of five former Brakettes who are National Hall of Famers. They are as follows:

Joan Joyce - Outstanding Pitcher
Joan was second in total wins (429-27) and first in career strikeouts (5,677) in her 17-year career that produced eight MVP awards and six team batting titles.
Allyson Rioux - Defensive Award
The late, former Westhill High and UMass standout from Stamford, Allyson was the MVP of the 1985 tournament in Lansing, MI, and one of the slickest fielders in team history. She was inducted into the ASA Hall of Fame in 2009.
Micki Stratton - MVP Award
Rosemary "Micki" Macchietto Stratton is a former three-time team batting champion and the first Brakettes player inducted into the ASA National Hall of Fame.
Pat Dufficy - Home Run Champion
A 19-year veteran of the Brakettes, Trumbull's Pat Dufficy leads in most team career offensive categories, including games played (1,112), hits (1177), runs (788), RBI (752) and triples (80).

Pat Dufficy's longstanding record of 91 career home runs was broken in 2014 by Denise Denis who now has over 100.

Diane Schumacher - Batting Champion
A native of West Springfield, MA, Diane Schumacher played with the Brakettes from 1976-86 and during that span won five team batting championships.