2017 Women's Major Softball
National Championship
August 10-13, Stratford, CT

    • Welcome
    • Event Schedule
    • Tickets
    • Teams / Rosters
    • Team Pix
    • Pools / Scores
    • Brackets / Scores
    • Linescores
    • WMS Photos
    • Awards
    • Write-ups

    • Brakettes' site
    • WMS Tourneys

Joan Joyce - Outstanding Pitcher Award
Chelsea Ross - St. Louis Saints

Allyson Rioux - Defensive Award
Elaine Bedell - Lyons Spirit

Micki Stratton - MVP Award
Madi Norman - St. Louis Saints

Pat Dufficy - Home Run Champion
Madi Norman - St. Louis Saints (2)

(Nikki Cuccio of the Havoc also hit 2; in case of tie,
award goes to player of higher finishing team)

Diane Schumacher - Batting Champion
Nikki Cuccio - NYC Havoc (.533)

All-Tournament Team

  C   Nikki Cuccio, NYC Havoc
  C   Halle Kisamore, Nook 23 Gold
1B   Morgan Edwards, Bloomington Lady Hearts
2B   Payton Staggs, St. Louis Saints
3B   Brittney Krodinger, St. Louis Saints
SS   Sammy Bunch, St. Louis Saints
OF   Elaine Bedell, Lyons Spirit
OF   Kate McLean, Bloomington Lady Hearts
OF   Courtney Krodinger, St. Louis Saints
UT   Madi Norman, St. Louis Saints
UT   Lauren Pitney, Stratford Brakettes
  P   Ally Wiegand, Bloomington Lady Hearts
  P   Bailey Lange, St. Louis Saints
  P   Reilly Gearhart, Nook 23 Gold
  P   Chelsea Ross, St. Louis Saints

2017 WMS Tournament Results

1 St. Louis Saints 4-0
2 Bloomington (IL) Lady Hearts 3-2
3 Nook 23 Gold (PA) 2-2
4 Lyons Spirit (PA) 2-2
5 NYC Havoc 2-2
5 Stratford Brakettes 1-2
7 Connecticut Eliminators 1-2
7 Stripes & Strikes (PA) 0-2
9 Jersey Fusion 0-2

About the Awards

The individual awards, based on bracket play, presented at the Women's Major Softball National Championship tournament, have been named in honor of five former Brakettes who are National Hall of Famers. They are as follows:

Joan Joyce - Outstanding Pitcher
Joan was second in total wins (429-27) and first in career strikeouts (5,677) in her 17-year career that produced eight MVP awards and six team batting titles.
Allyson Rioux - Defensive Award
The late, former Westhill High and UMass standout from Stamford, Allyson was the MVP of the 1985 tournament in Lansing, MI, and one of the slickest fielders in team history. She was inducted into the ASA Hall of Fame in 2009.
Micki Stratton - MVP Award
Rosemary "Micki" Macchietto Stratton is a former three-time team batting champion and the first Brakettes player inducted into the ASA National Hall of Fame.
Pat Dufficy - Home Run Champion
A 19-year veteran of the Brakettes, Trumbull's Pat Dufficy leads in most team career offensive categories, including games played (1,112), hits (1177), runs (788), RBI (752) and triples (80).

Pat Dufficy's longstanding record of 91 career home runs was broken in 2014 by Denise Denis who now has well over 100.

Diane Schumacher - Batting Champion
A native of West Springfield, MA, Diane Schumacher played with the Brakettes from 1976-86 and during that span won five team batting championships.